Ranking among the top 5 most populous states in the United States, New York state has a high number of car collisions. Busy traffic leads to the inevitability of car accidents, which in turn result in injuries and even fatalities. That’s why it is so important to understand the insurance policy and consult a top-rated car accident lawyer if you or your loved ones is a victim of a car accident.
What Is a No-Fault Law in NY?
The No-Fault law can sound confusing to people who hear about it for the first time. One should know that the law does NOT mean nobody would be held at fault for a car collision.
The No-Fault car insurance system exists in more than a dozen states in the US including New York. The No-Fault law was adopted in NY in the 1970s to help people get compensation faster and to provide financial aid to car accident victims more quickly.
The law applies to everyone who got involved in the car accident including pedestrians, cyclists, drivers, and passengers of the vehicles regardless of who was at fault. The victims of the motor vehicle accident can have their crash-related medical expenses, lost earnings, and incidental costs covered by the insurance company.
Who Can Qualify for No-Fault Insurance in New York State?
The No-Fault law in NY state applies to pedestrians, cyclists, drivers, and passengers who got injured by a motor vehicle. There are several conditions that one must meet to qualify for No-Fault insurance coverage:
- The car accident has to happen in New York state.
- The driver or passenger injured in a vehicle collision has to be in the insured car. If it’s a pedestrian or cyclist then the vehicle they were hit by has to be insured.
- The vehicle must have New York state registration.
- The vehicle must be a car, bus, taxi, truck, or another type of vehicle covered by No-Fault law.
- The vehicle insurance has to be issued by a company licensed to do business in New York state.
Who does not qualify for No-Fault insurance?
- Motorcycle and motor scooter riders.
- Motor vehicle drivers injured as a result of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated.
How to Claim No-Fault Insurance?
Claiming No-Fault insurance can be tricky due to many rules and strict deadlines, when it comes to filing and submitting the paperwork.
The application for No-Fault insurance must be filed with the insurance provider within 30 days of the car accident. The medical bills have to be submitted within 45 days of the treatment while other expenses, for example, the lost wages or household help must be submitted within 90 days.
The skilled car accident attorneys at Kucher Law understand the frustration and anxiety that go hand-in-hand with a car accident and are here to help vehicle collision victims and their families ensure they get the justice and compensation they deserve. If you have been injured in a car accident in New York state, call now to schedule a free consultation with a top-notch car accident lawyer, (929) 274 8000.